30 in 30, Day 1: Every Journey Begins with a Single Christmas Parody Video

Hey guys,

College football kicked off the 2011/12 season today, and I’m stoked to be kicking off an event of my own (albeit a less important one). As you may or may not recall, I am technically an “actor,” and while I’m no Carl Weathers in terms of sheer talent, I’ve been fortunate enough to work on a few pretty cool projects lately, but I’ve been looking for a way to broadcast some small parts of those projects, while simultaneously working on ways to push my creativity in preparation for what is shaping up to be a pretty active next few months.  Yes, that was all one sentence. I am paid by the comma.

Thus, I came up with a project I am calling 30-in-30 (and when I say “I came up with,” I mean it’s essentially a name I stole from Bill Simmons and ESPN, but their project was different. Please don’t sue me). The principle behind it is simple: for the next 30 days, I am going to tap into my creative resources and share one piece of original material/content per day. It could be anything from a podcast, to a video, to music, to a photo, or anything else I come up with. I have some fun ideas planned, but by and large it will be a very freeform sort of experience that I hope you guys will enjoy a bit, and that will push me from a creative standpoint. I’ll be using this blog to offer any explanation necessary behind the posts. The only exception is that I’ll be taking Sundays off as a day of rest (another idea I stole, from my favorite deity), and a chance to sort of recharge and plan. So I guess that actually makes the event 26-in-30, but that’s just not as catchy.

Today’s gem is actually something I worked on a while ago, but isn’t available anywhere else on the net, so I thought it would be cool to have it someplace where you could find it for generations and generations of blackmail to come. Many moons ago, I did a few commercials for AAA (not to be confused with AA, who won’t stop calling me for some reason) where the concept was: throw Dustin in a while beard (it was the holiday season), call him the son of Santa (Zak Kringle) and let him improvise about Christmas and AAA until there’s something usable for television. It was actually really challenging, even for someone who enjoys improvising as much as I do, especially since I didn’t have anything to work from other than a beard, some makeup, and whatever I could pull out my arse. Luckily I was working with a really great crew, and it turned out pretty decent. Apologies that it’s in standard definition, but this was an era before George Lucas and James Cameron had mandated that everything be shot digitally and in 3D. It was a simpler time. Anyway, here they are, I hope you love them more than you love anything else, ever.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “30 in 30, Day 1: Every Journey Begins with a Single Christmas Parody Video

  1. Jack says:

    well, I don’t love them as much as Jesus, but they are pretty darn funny.

    May all your caribou droppings sprout flowers quickly that you might avoid stepping in them.

Add your thoughts!

